top of page

Wiliams Daughter launches her career with her debut Indie single "All I know" [Premiere]


Williams Daughter released her debut single "All I Know", an introspective Indie-Country ballad.


"Every New Year's, I sort of think about the year that's gone by and I start looking forward to what's coming, what I want and how I'm going to grow. Last New Year's Eve, I was fiddling around with my guitar at 1 a.m and I wrote All I Know," she said.


The singer-songwriter got her song produced at Skyline Studios in Mitchell, Ontario. She said the song was produced in two sessions.


Williams Daughter, formally known as Nicole VanMassenhoven, said her artist name was inspired by her family name and her musical influences.


"My dad's first name is actually William. My grandfather's favourite artist was Hank William. My favourite artist is Joy Williams. Even in high school, one of my favourite bands, Paramore, had Hayley Williams. So I'm not just a product of my family. I'm also the product of artists that have inspired me along the way," she said.


Born in Saint Mary's, a small town in Ontario, she said her music is inspired a lot by nature.


"I've written a lot of songs that involve trees or animals. I love the outdoors. I moved to London for a while, but it was when I moved back home that I started writing again," she said.


The 28-year-old singer-songwriter said she was thrown into her music career by a music mentor she had connected with back home.


"For my first paid gig as a musician, I sort of got thrown into the water by my music mentor. She said, 'Do you want to perform a three-hour set at this private party? It pays well, and I can't do it and you totally could.' I did it and it was amazing and I realized there was no going back," she said.


Since then, she has performed with Rock for Optimism at the Saint Mary's Legion, at the Army Navy Saint Mary's, at a local Gordy's Bar and for private parties.


She said she hopes to release another single by the end of the year and an EP in 2021.

"My goal is to make music for the people who need to hear it. I’m not looking for fame or stardom, but a sustainable career that has longevity and continuity," she said.




Stream All I Know below:


 

bottom of page